Skip to content


Dr Srinivas Rao
M.D., PhD

Dr Srinivas Rao is the Co-Founder and Chief Scientific Officer at ATAI Life Sciences AG. Dr. Rao has over 19 years of professional experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries. Prior to ATAI, Dr Rao has held the titles of Chief Scientific, Medical, or Executive Officer at companies ranging from venture backed startups to vertically integrated, publicly traded pharmaceutical companies. Dr Rao completed an internship in Internal Medicine at Yale-New Haven Hospital. He received his PhD in neurobiology from Yale Graduate School and his MD from Yale School of Medicine. He holds both a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from Yale College and Yale Graduate School, respectively.

Dr Srinivas Rao

Dr Michael Gendreau
M.D., PhD

Dr Michael Gendreau is currently managing director of Gendreau Consulting LLC, a consultancy that he runs along with his wife, Judy Gendreau, M.D.  He received is M.D. and PhD degrees from the Ohio State University combined program.  Dr Gendreau previously has served as Chief Medical Officer (CMO) for a variety of biotechnological companies including MicroProbe, Cypress Bioscience, Cerephex, and Intec Pharma. Currently, at Gendreau Consulting, he functions as a CMO for hire and assists multiple clients with a range of services including protocol development, FDA interactions, investigator meeting planning and conduct, CRO selection and clinical study management.  His focus is on CNS related programs including chronic pain and fibromyalgia.

Dr. Michael Gendreau

Dr John H. Krystal 

Dr. Krystal is the Robert L. McNeil, Jr., Professor of Translational Research; Professor of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, and Psychology; Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at Yale University; and Chief of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health at Yale-New Haven Hospital.  He is a graduate of the University of Chicago, Yale University School of Medicine, and the Yale Psychiatry Residency Training Program.  He has published extensively on the neurobiology and treatment of schizophrenia, alcoholism, PTSD, and depression. Notably, his laboratory discovered the rapid antidepressant effects of ketamine in humans. He directs/co-directs the Yale Center for Clinical Investigation (CTSA), NIAAA Center for the Translational Neuroscience of Alcoholism, and Clinical Neuroscience Division of the National Center for PTSD (VA). Dr. Krystal is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Medicine; co-director of the Neuroscience Forum of the U.S. National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; and editor of Biological Psychiatry (IF=12.1). He has served as a member of the NIMH National Mental Health Advisory Council and the NIAAA National Alcohol Advisory Council. He is past president of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) and the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology (CINP).

Dr. John H. Krystal

Dr Murray B Stein

Murray B Stein is Distinguished Professor of Psychiatry and Public Health, Vice Chair for Clinical Research in Psychiatry at the University of California San Diego (UCSD), and a Staff Psychiatrist at the VA San Diego Healthcare System.

Dr. Stein graduated from the University of Manitoba and completed his residency and fellowship training at the University of Toronto and the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) in Bethesda, Maryland. He subsequently completed a Master of Public Health degree at the Johns

Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. Dr. Stein’s research interests include the epidemiology, neurobiology, and treatment of anxiety and trauma-related disorders including social anxiety disorder, posttraumatic stress disorder, and mild traumatic brain injury. His research has been continuously federally funded for the past 25 years. He has written or co-written over 700 peer-reviewed scientific articles on these topics, in journals including JAMA, New England Journal of Medicine, and Nature Neuroscience.

Dr. Stein is a Fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology and a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. He is a past member of the APA DSM-5 Anxiety, OCD, and Trauma-Related Disorders Working Group (2009-2013), and of the FDA Psychopharmacologic Drugs Advisory Committee (2011-2016).

Dr. Stein is Editor-in-Chief for the journal Depression and Anxiety, Co-Editor-in-Chief for UpToDate in Psychiatry, and Deputy Editor for the journal Biological Psychiatry.

Dr. Murray B. Stein