Skip to content


Mr Alan Fisher BCom, FCA, MAICD
Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Fisher is an experienced corporate advisor and public company director. He has a proven track record for implementing strategies that enhance shareholder value. His main areas of expertise include mergers and acquisitions, public and private equity raisings, business restructuring and strategic advice.

Mr Alan Fisher – Non-Executive Director

Dr Errol De Souza PhD
Non-Executive Director

Dr De Souza is a leader in the development of therapeutics for treatment of central nervous system (CNS) disorders. He has substantial experience as an executive in the biopharmaceutical industry, having founded companies (Neurocrine Biosciences Inc.) and served as President and CEO of several public (Biodel Inc.; Synaptic Pharmaceutical Corp.) and private (Archemix Corp. and Neuropore Therapies Inc.) biotech companies. Dr De Souza has raised several hundred million dollars in capital in private and public sectors and has taken companies public (Neurocrine Biosciences IPO) and sold companies (Synaptic sale to Lundbeck) to provide liquidity and build shareholder value. Over Dr De Souza’s career, he has served in a number of high-ranking R&D roles, including SVP and US head of R&D for Aventis (1998-2002), co-founder and EVP of R&D at Neurocrine (1992-1998) and Head of CNS at DuPont Merck (1990–1992). Dr De Souza has served on multiple editorial boards, National Institutes of Health (NIH) Committees and is currently a Director of several public and private companies and currently serves as a member of the board of directors of Catalyst Biosciences, Inc (CBIO), Cyclerion Therapeutics (CYCN) and Royalty Pharma plc (RPRX). He has previously served on the board of directors of several public companies including IDEXX Laboratories (IDXX), Neurocrine Biosciences (NBIX), Palatin Technologies (PTN) and Synaptic Pharmaceuticals (SNAP).

Dr Errol De Souza – Non-Executive Chairman

Mr David Wilson
Non-Executive Director

Mr Wilson is Chairman and founding partner of WG Partners and has over 30 years’ experience in investment banking in the City of London. Previously Mr Wilson was CEO of Piper Jaffray Ltd, where he also served as Global Chairman of Healthcare and on the Group Leadership Team. Mr Wilson has held senior positions at ING Barings as Joint Head of UK Investment Banking Group, Deutsche Bank as Head of Small Companies Corporate Finance and UBS as Head of Small Companies Corporate Broking. Mr Wilson was previously Senior Independent Director of Optos plc prior to its successful sale of Nikon Corporation for ~$400m as well as a Non-Executive Director of BerGenBio AS.


Mr David Wilson – Non-Executive Director

Dr Jane Ryan PhD
Non-Executive Director

Dr Jane Ryan has over 30 years of international experience in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industries having worked in Australia, US and UK. She has held senior executive roles in management of research and development programs as well as business development and alliance management. Throughout her career, she has led many successful fundraising campaigns and licensing initiatives including the awarding of a $230m US Government contract. Dr Ryan is currently a non-executive director of Anatara LifeSciences Ltd. Dr Ryan has an interest in public health and the advancement of science and currently chairs the Advisory Board of the ithree Institute, University of Technology Sydney and was previously a Board Member of Veski; Diabetes Victoria, TechInSA, and the Diabetes Vaccine Development Centre.

Dr Jane Ryan – Non-Executive Director

Mr Aaron Weaver CFA, LLM
Non-Executive Director Nominee

Mr Weaver is a Principal at Apeiron Investments, focused on the life sciences and technology sector. From 2013 – 2017, he was an investment banker at Credit Suisse in London within the Capital Markets Solutions team, advising on capital structuring and issuances for a full spectrum of corporate issuers from pre-revenue companies to public listed companies. He was a capital markets solicitor at Allen & Overy LLP, London from 2007 – 2013. Mr Weaver currently serves on the board of Bionomics as Apeiron’s nominee. He holds a Masters of Law from the Queensland University. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) and a registered solicitor in the United Kingdom.


Mr Aaron Weaver – Non-Executive Director

Mr Miles Davies
Non-Executive Director Nominee

Mr Davies is a 15-year veteran of the financial services industry with deep multi-sector and multi-function experience. He has a proven track record in advising private and public company Boards of Directors and shareholders of businesses that range in Enterprise Value size of $100m to $5bn. He has completed numerous M&A transactions across a variety of sectors including healthcare, along with strong experience in capital raising and restructuring opportunities during his time at Rothschild & Co. Mr Davies is currently an Investment Professional at Apeiron Investment Group Ltd and is Chief Business Officer for Leaf4Life Inc.

Miles Davies - Non-Executive Director

Mr Miles Davies – Non-Executive Director

Spyros Papapetropoulos, M.D., PhD
President, CEO, and Executive Director

Spyros is an experienced biopharmaceutical executive, a recognized neuroscientist/neurologist, and change agent with a 25-year career focused on CNS disorders. He held various positions of increasing responsibility at CNS-focused start-up/small, medium specialty and large biopharma companies. Prior to joining Bionomics Ltd. he served as Chief Medical Officer of Vigil Neuroscience Inc, (NASDAQ: VIGL), as Chief Development Officer, and SVP, Head of Clinical Development at Acadia Pharmaceuticals Inc (NASDAQ: ACAD)., CEO at SwanBio Therapeutics, and EVP of Research & Development and Chief Medical Officer at Cavion Inc. Before Cavion, he held senior/executive positions at Biogen Inc., Allergan plc, Pfizer Inc., and Teva Pharmaceuticals Inc. Spyros has filed multiple INDs and has overseen a broad spectrum of CNS biopharmaceutical development programs (small molecules, biologics, gene therapy), leading to successful regulatory filings (20+ INDs and multiple NDAs/BLAs) and new product approvals and launches worldwide.

Spyros Papapetropoulos

Spyros Papapetropoulos, M.D., PhD – President, CEO, and Executive Director